Annual Meeting November 13th 2016

The annual meeting was at the home of Ellen and Jack Alden. After a social hour, business included a review of the 2016 budget with thank yous from the MSPCA and USEA Area 1 for sponsorship of a fundraising ride and the UNH XC improvements. Also new this year are PayPal and a redesigned website, including online membership renewal and entry forms.

Raffle winners

Ralph Williams and Ralph Marrone (a good year to be named Ralph)

Volunteer of the Year

Liz Russell for her years of active membership, MA Horse Liaison, traffic management and ring stewarding at Pipestave Hill Horse Trials.

Lifetime Achievement Award

Cindy Foote in recognition of her years of contributing to our club and local equine community. Her club participation includes opening her home to club social activities, mowing the hills of Pipestave, fence adoption, being a fence judge, and participation in all equine events as a volunteer and participant. She is a former member of the BOD.

Members voted on our year end donations to the amount of $2500 to various local charities.

Elected were new members of the Board

  • Shipley Allinson
  • Carol Ganz
  • Allison Aamodt
  • Peter Clark and Amy Bresky were elected for continuing terms and VP.

Other business included suggestions from Claude Maina and Susan Beliveau for easier cross-country course management (more details on this coming in a later e-mail).

A number of topics for informative talks this winter include

  • yoga for equestrians
  • Dr Cavatorta
  • Nutrena Representative, Jacqueline Gagnon on nutrition/obesity
  • Sports psychology
  • Natural horsemanship with Ben Lard
  • Barn emergencies lecture

In 2016, the Club was also able to refurbish Ring One, thanks to Scott Laffey who donated time, and a new event, a Derby Cross organized by Jane Cleveland to benefit the UNH XC improvement fund. Adventure Trail raised money for the trail fund donated to ECTA while the Pipestave events raised monies for Club function and our year-end donations. A big thank you to all our volunteers who make this possible.

Leave a Reply